CHRONOLOGY OF EVENTS
1590 – February
17 - the whole area (San Franciso del Monte) was donated to the Franciscan missionaries by Governor
General Santiago de Vera. It was Fray Pedro Bautista himself who received the donation on behalf of the friars.
1590-1591. - The first
church was made of bamboo and nipa. The church was dedicated to Our Lady of the Montecelli. It was intended to be used as a
retreat house and a novitiate.
1593 – Wood, clay
and natural stones were used for the stronger construction of the church that lasted until 1599.
1599 –Solid stones
were used and refined stones were later added. The foreman was Capitan Pedro Salazar and the Architect was
1639 – Invasion
of the Chinese pirates led by Limahong. The church was heavily damaged.
1642 – The church
was abandoned. The friars moved to Pandacan.
1645 – The church
was totally damaged due to a strong earthquake and was left untended for 39 years.
1684 - Reconstruction of the church and convent began.
1688 – The church
and the convent were placed under the care of the friars of Sampaloc.
1699 – Don Tomas
Endaya supported the reconstruction of the church and the convent. Volcanic tuff
was used. The church was dedicated to the Holy Martyrs of Japan of which Blessed Peter the Bautista
was the leader. The main “retablo”, side altars and the main sanctuary of the chuch were constructed.
1895 – Fr. Ildefonso
Dominguez, OFM, the superior, with his community, decided to abandon the place on the eve of December 24 because
of the attacks of the revolutionary forces. It eventually became the headquarters of the Filipino revolutionary forces.
1896 – General
Hermogenes, one of the leaders of the revolutionary forces, and some of his men occupied the church until Febuary
27, 1997. General Guillermo took over until July 20, 1898.
1898 – August
16, American soldiers occupied the church and convent.
1912 - Restoration of
the Church and convent by Fr. Jose Maria Manjabacas, OFM began.
1914 -January 28,
the newly repaired church was blessed and reconsecrated to San Pedro Bautista
by Fr. Angel Garcia, OFM
1914 - February 5, the first fiesta celebration was held.
1932 – November
11, San Pedro Bautista Church, San Francisco del Monte, was officially declared a parish by a decree issued by the
Archbishop of Manila, Michael O'Doherty, DD.
1971 – A new and
longer nave was built perpendicular to the the old church to accommodate a growing number of church-goers. The
facade of the new nave followed the California-Mission style. The baroque altar and the two side altars were kept in
the former sanctuary and sacristy. The old colonial church now becomes the main sanctuary of the newly rennovated
edifice. It was blessed by Bishop Artemio Casas, DD.
1989 – the century-old
three “retablos” were transferred to the main sanctuary in full view
of the faithful.
February 17, celebration of the 400th-year Foundation Day.
1990 – "Frescoes
of the Martyrdom of San Pedro Bautista and Companions (Nagasaki, Japan, 1597) " - painted on the sidewalls of the main sanctuary by the two local artists,
Mr. Hermie Cruz and Mr. Paguio.
2001 – February
25, Cardinal Jaime Sin, Archbishop of Manila, conferred the title of Santuario de San Pedro Bautista (Archdiocesan Shrine) upon
the petition of the parish priest, Fr. Roberto Manansala, OFM and the parishioners.
2003 – The
sanctuary apse (altar wall) was painted with a host of angels by local artists (Cruz and Paguio).