CHURCH OF OUR LADY OF THE ANGELS
by: JF"Long" D. Gutay, OFM
first Church built by the Franciscans shortly after their arrival in the Philippines in 1578. It was inaugurated on August 2 and dedicated to our
Lady of the Angels. From its humble nipa, bamboo and wooden beginnings, the church was transformed into a stone edifice
in 1739. Since then it was considered as one of the most impressive churches in Intramuros. The ravages of the
II World War razed it to the ground during the liberation of Manila in 1945. Only the statue of St. Anthony with a woman and child located at the church's quadrangle barely
survived the assault. It is now situated in the courtyard of Santuario de San Antonio Parish, Forbes Park,
Makati City. The Church, Popularly known also as Church of St. Francis, was located at the corner of San Francisco and Solano street (Present site of Mapua Institute of Technology).